Recent Finds

book pile1

This lovely pile comes from a local thrift shop. Like they say…one [wo]man’s trash…

*Middlesex-Jeffrey Eugenides-A Pulitzer Prize winner which I’ve heard a lot about but have never decided to buy. Issues of gender identity always interest me especially after having read excerpts of She’s Not Here by Boylan in a grad school gender and health class

*The House on Mango Street-Sandra Cisneros which is required in English classes nowadays is the story of a young Latina living in Chicago…I love reading coming of age stories about smart adolescent girls. I’m fickle recently and am reading really short things to at least make me feel like I’m creating a dent in the piles, so this one might get a peak this weekend.

*The Road-Cormac McCarthy a national bestseller and is now a movie (I usually don’t frequent bestsellers but this one was $0.50) and it seems interesting. A man and his son are walking through the world after mass destruction on their way to an unknown location on the coast. Of course they catch hell on this journey. Maybe there will be large monsters or other frightfully surprising things.

*2 vegetarian cookbooks (hoping to eat more vegetarian meals) One of these is from the 80s…but I suppose recipes hold up and I’m excited to try some new stuff.


*The Sheltering Sky-Paul Bowles
– Anytime a publishing company reprints books and calls them modern classics or something to that effect, I’m generally interested. I still have that spastic and slightly doomed feeling that I’ll never be able to catch up on all the books that I should read and that I want to read. That being said who knows when I’ll get to any of these. Here we have American travelers wandering about North Africa after WWII. Ignorance of other cultures and it’s repercussion should be thought provoking or at least what you’d expect.

*A Sudden Country-Karen Fisher A novel that I’ve never heard of but that I would entertain for a low price…I’m so cheap. It’s the winter of 1846 when a trader’s Native American wife leaves him and the children.There’s smallpox, culture clash, extreme sadness, and redemptive love.

*The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society-Shaffer and Barrows (not pictured). I have no idea if it will be good. It’s on the bestseller list and is everywhere so of course on principle I’d managed to avoid it this whole time…not that I hadn’t been eying it. It is a story told through letters about a group of people who livied during the WWII occupation of their island. I’m always up for a good historical fiction read.

These I found yesterday at a used book shop

*The Rock Cried Out-Ellen Douglas. This VMC is set in the early 70s in Mississippi. Sounds like a good setting for racial turmoil.

*Singin’ and Swingin’ and Gettin’ Merry Like Christmas-Maya Angelou This is a Virago printing. I’ve read Caged Bird but this is the 3rd one in her series of autobiographies. There are five. I really enjoyed Caged Bird which I read earlier this year. Guess that means I’ll be looking for #2.

*The Handmaid’s Tale-Margaret Atwood I’ve heard a lot about this book and about Atwood in particular. I have another of her books waiting in the TBR pile.

5 responses to “Recent Finds

Leave a Reply

