Girlebooks: “ebooks by the gals”

girlebooks logo

Sometimes the internet is great. Stumbling upon Girlebooks was one of those great moments. I’m always interested in (re)discovering works written by women, especially those that may no longer be in print or may be hard to find. Of course I have had an eye-opening experience the past couple of months being introduced to Persephone books, and then Virago. I then began to wonder if there were similar publishing houses in the US, even beyond. A previous post found Schomburg. Then enter Girlebooks.

Laura McDonald and her mother Joyce have a good thing going here. They use works mainly included in Project Gutenburg. I’ve browsed around at Project Gutenburg and even downloaded a few things…yet I never have read them in full. Girlebooks might have the answer for me. They reprint the original editions in an easy to read, attractive format that can be downloaded in pdf and other formats that work with your ereader or your laptop. The aim is to “make classic and lesser-known works by female writers available to a large audience through the ebook medium”. Why you ask? “Women authors were not always as celebrated and promoted as they are today, we are digging up many hidden jewels that that are in the public domain, free, and deserve a wider audience”. And it gets even better, the majority of the books are free.

The search feature is nice because you can sort by British or American authors, author last name, or title. And if you do not see your favorite author as a Girlebook, there is an open invitation for suggestions in the forums. Here is a short list of authors available:

  • Louisa May Alcott
  • Jane Austen
  • Edith Wharton
  • The Bronte sisters
  • Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • Willa Cather
  • George Eliot
  • Browsing through the selection I was excited to see so many titles by authors that I am familiar with and those that I’m not. For my very first ebook experience I’ve selected Oroonoko (1688) by Aphra Behn for download to pdf. This one grabbed my attention because it’s pretty short and I’m not sure I can make it through reading a novel on the computer 🙂 I will be back to post my thoughts on this book about an enslaved African and of course on e-reading.

    Other blogs about Girlebooks:

  • Each Little World
  • Amy’s Stocking Stuffers
  • GirlyCon
  • Did I miss your blog? Let me know!

    Have you found similar publishing houses that you’d like to share?

    One response to “Girlebooks: “ebooks by the gals”

    • nicolelavonne

      awesome! thanks for sharing! sounds like a wealth of good info here. i’ll be looking into it, for sure. i am working on two of my own books now that i am hoping to bring to e-life — an epistolary and a short story memoir. i am just trying to figure out how to do it, the benefits and difficulties, avenues, success stories, writers behind them…and anything else relevant!

      twitter.com/nicolelavonne
      nicolesallwrite.wordpress.com
      nicolelavonnesmith.com

    Leave a Reply

