Roald Dahl Day

RDD logo_NODATE

Today is Roald Dahl Day!

As a kid I adored Roald Dahl’s books. They were extremely witty and entertaining and I would read them again and again. A few of them have been made into movies. You might remember seeing Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (adapted twice), The Witches (one of my favorites), James and the Giant Peach, or Matilda. More information about Roald Dahl and his books can be found here and here.

Since I have read all of the books I have, I will celebrate by reading D is for Dahl. It is “a gloriumptious A-Z guide to the world of Roald Dahl” with illustrations by Quentin Blake, of course. If you are at all familiar with Roald Dahl’s writing you will recognize and come to expect a word like ‘gloriumptious’. D is for Dahl contains facts about Roald Dahl’s life, his books and characters.

Below are the Roald Dahl books I could dig out of storage. Flipping through them has reminded me of how much I enjoyed them. I think I’ll add them to my shelves for a re-read in the future.

DSCN0333

DSCN0335

6 responses to “Roald Dahl Day

  • Book Psmith

    I read more books by Dahl as an adult than I did as a child but I reread James and the Giant Peach more times between third and fifth grade than I care to admit. D is for Dahl is very good…I read it twice I enjoyed it so much. I hope you will like it. Have you read Boy and Going Solo? Perfect is you want to know more about his youth.

  • Vee

    Cheers to another person celebrating Roald Dahl Day! 🙂 Just read the post above – I’d read Going Solo when I was younger and loved it but was a bit haunted by it too. Here’s another page for you too, lots of info about Dahl’s favourite authors and books (including from when he was younger.)

  • LeaningSun

    Book Psmith-I too enjoyed D is for Dahl, there were lots of things there that I didn’t know and it’s always good when a book makes you laugh unexpectedly.

    Vee-It’s good to see that someone else celebrated Roald Dahl day too! I haven’t read Boy or Going Solo although I’ve picked them up several times. I’ve now added them to my wishlist.

  • The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me by Roald Dahl « Leaning Towards the Sun

    […] no secret that I loved Roald Dahl as a kid. His books for children are witty and […]

  • joshsuds

    I had no idea there was a Roald Dahl Day. Thanks for posting! He is my favorite short story author, although I liked his children’s books as well. I went into a book store a couple of years ago and asked the owner if he could recommend any short story authors like Roald Dahl.
    He thought for a moment and then looked at me and said, “there are none.” Exactly.

    http://joshsuds.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

