Banned Books Week Sept 26-Oct 3

Banned Books Weeks (BBW) starts today. To celebrate these lovely books and in a slight act of defiance I’m going to read some this week 🙂 Sponsored by the American Library Association, BBW has been celebrated yearly since 1982. For more details look here and here.

There are a slew of books to pick from. Somehow I’m pretty sure that if the challengers and objectioners actually read books regularly the list would be miles long. Anyhow, to keep it manageable, I selected books that have been challenged in the last few years (2004-2009). I also only selected books that I currently own and have not previously read. The lucky winners are:

  • Bless Me, Ultima by Rudolfo Anaya
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Bless Me, UltimaThe Handmaid's Tale

    Others that made my list that I hope to get to soon:

  • Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  • The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
  • Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling (I know! I’m behind in my HP. I have read books 1-4 but grad school got in the way)
  • Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs
  • Twilight Series by Stephanie Myer (I read book 1 only so that I could talk junk about it, so I guess I will read the others)
    1. Which banned books have you read lately?

    Leave a Reply

