Romping through the bins

quailridgelogo
The local bookshop had a used book sale (!!) this weekend to benefit a program called Books for kids. Not that that I need to buy anymore books, I’m drowning under those that I have and bookshelf space is hard to come by or really is non-existent. But this is for charity… 🙂 It seemed like the sale went well. I got there early and it was already crowded.
Here’s what I came away with:

  • Blaming by Elizabeth Taylor (a VMC)
  • The Waves by Virginia Woolf
  • The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  • The Robber Bridegroom by Eudora Welty
  • Boy by Roald Dahl
  • Thousand Pieces of Gold by Ruthanne Lum McCunn
  • A Double Life by Karolina Pavlova
  • The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai
  • Paula by Isabel Allende
  • The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
  • Women in Love by D.H. Lawrence
  • To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
  • How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez
  • Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks
  • All in super condition. Now if I only had another set of eyes to read them all.
    DSCN0389

    3 responses to “Romping through the bins

    • Book Psmith

      What a great selection! And all in super condition is a bonus:) Enjoy your reads…Boy is very good and Paula is powerfully good.

    • Brigindo

      Have you read any Virginia Woolf? If not, I wouldn’t start with The Waves. Its great but I’d start with To The Lighthouse.

      • LeaningSun

        Book Psmith, Boy and Paula are both books I’ve been meaning to read for a while. I know the story of Paula through some of Allende’s other books but haven’t read it because I thought it would be too heavy.

        Brigindo, thanks for the heads up about waves. I’ve only read A Room of One’s Own and didn’t know where to go next. To the Lighthouse it is.

    Leave a Reply

