Library book sale

banner_2009booksale

I have books on the floor and books lined up in double rows on the shelves. I need more books like I need a hole in the head, but that’s never stopped me before. So off I went to the Wake County Library book sale. I missed it last year and was super excited to go this year. This thing is giant-I think they say there are at least 300,000 books for sale. Some ex-library and some looked brand new. When I arrived the line was around the building, it was exciting to see so many folks out to buy books. After about 45 minutes I was in. I didn’t mind waiting or chatting with the ‘Medicare age’ lady (her words) waiting beside me who was looking for books in Japanese although she’d really like to be able to read mysteries in English but it takes her too long. We said good luck and off we were.

Set up in what used to be a grocery store, there were books everywhere. Map in hand, I made a beeline for the classics and literature, then sci-fi, gardening, cookbooks, juvenile lit, reference and textbooks. By the time I got to history and biography I was pooped, hot, and hungry. I camped in a corner for a bit to go through my loot. Here’s what I came away with.

DSCN0541

  • The Song of the Trees by Mildred D. Taylor
  • The Other Side of the Door by Jeff Moss
  • Village School by Miss Read
  • The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing
  • The Bondwoman’s Narrative by Hannah Crafts
  • Beautiful at All Seasons by Elizabeth Lawrence
  • A Southern Garden by Elizabeth Lawrence
  • Talk that Talk: An Anthology of African-American Storytelling edited by Linda Goss and Marian E. Barnes
  • Someone Knows my Name by Lawrence Hill
  • The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  • A Mercy by Toni Morrison
  • Madame de Treymes and Three Novellas by Edith Wharton
  • The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me by Roald Dahl
  • Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont by Elizabeth Taylor
  • Blood Done Sign My Name by Timothy B. Tyson
  • Black Boy by Richard Wright
  • Fences by August Wilson
  • Midnight Robber by Nalo Hopkinson
  • My Brother by Jamaica Kincaid
  • Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson
  • The Glimpses of the Moon by Edith Wharton
  • Children of God by Mary Doria Russell
  • The Simple Truth by Elizabeth Hardwick
  • William by E.H. Young
  • Advertisements

    3 responses to “Library book sale

    • Brigindo

      Impressive loot.

      Can’t wait to hear what you think of The Golden Notebook, Mists of Avalon, A Mercy and Brother.

      I haven’t read Brother but love Jamaica Kincaid. I just finished “Lucy” by her and will loan it if you are interested.

    • Claire

      Great haul! Impressed by the green VMCs.
      The only one I have read yet is A Mercy, which I enjoyed a lot.

    • LeaningSun

      I loved a mercy, I should probably read it again so I can blog about it.

      Brigindo, The only Kincaid I’ve read is Annie John so when I saw Brother I thought I might be interested. I’ll have to look but I think I have a copy of Lucy. How was it?

    Leave a Reply

