A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

This is a Christmas classic that I can’t say I’ve read before. Of course I know the story, I’ve seen cartoons, movies, and stage adaptations, even spoofs on televisions shows. I figured this Christmas would be a good time to read A Christmas Carol. This is also my first Dickens (*gasp*). I’m sure most everyone is familiar with the story: Ebenezer Scrooge is a rich and mean old man who lost his business partner, Jacob Marley, seven years ago. He is bitter about the Christmas season and is rude to everyone who tries to get him to celebrate. On Christmas eve the ghost of Marley appears to Scrooge in an effort to show him what could happen if he continues in his bitter ways. Marley warns Scrooge that he will be visited by three spirits. The spirits take Scrooge through his past, the present, and even let him have a peek at the future. Sometimes seeing things from a different perspective allows us to make changes in our lives.

    ‘There are many things from which I might have derived good, by which I have not profited, I dare say,’ returned the nephew: ‘Christmas among the rest. But I am sure I have always thought of Christmas time, when it has come round-apart from the veneration due to its sacred name and origin, if anything belonging to it can be apart from that-as a good time: a kind, forgiving, charitable, pleasant time: the only time I know of, in the long calendar of the year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely, and to think of people below them as if they really were fellow-passengers to the grave, and not another race of creatures bound on other journeys. And therefore, uncle, though it has never put a scrap of gold or silver in my pocket, I believe that it has done me good, and will do me good; and I say, God bless it!’
Leave a Reply

