A Teaser

teaser tuespic

It is 1899 and the Texas heat keeps most people inside but Calpurnia has decided to become a naturalist. She goes to the library to request Darwin’s The Origin of Species

    I wanted to weep with rage and humiliation, but I refused to cry in front of the old bat. I left the library in a purple froth and found Harry lounging in front of the general store. He looked at me with concern. I scratched the welts that had popped up on my neck and yelled, “What is the point of a library if they won’t give you a book?”

From The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

Leave a Reply

