Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within by Natalie Goldberg

Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Shambhala Pocket Classics)

Finishing this book on writing I realized that it could teach me about life as well. Writing Down the Bones is a series of short essays on writing and ways to open up and just let your voice out onto the paper-you have to practice you have to believe in yourself. I originally frantically compiled books on writing. I was having a moment of panic-well a series of moments over a span of about a week about a paper I was writing for work. I was looking for a particular book on writing to kind of get me started because as a researcher if you don’t understand something, what do you do but look up the answer. I stalked around bookstores browsing the table of contents, crept through the library reading jacket covers, and surfed online to see what other folks were reading. I rifled through a few books but they weren’t what I was looking for. Goldberg gives us funny stories about writing and life-what worked for her and what did not. So as an exercise similar to those she provides I decided to write this review-no editing, non-stop, and no fear.

One response to “Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within by Natalie Goldberg

  • Brigindo

    I love reading books on writing and enjoyed Writing Down the Bones immensely. However if you want books on academic writing I would recommend Boice’s “Professors as Writers” and Silva’s “How to Write A Lot.” If you want a great book on creative writing, my favorite is LeGuin’s “Steering the Craft.”

    I agree many of the so-called techniques of getting to writing and learning to write can be applied to life.

Leave a Reply

