National Library Week

I subscribe to a blog written by my local library system. Each day a different librarian highlights and writes about a book. All sorts of books are highlighted, some that I have read and some that I have not. It certainly has increased my want-to-read list and I must say I’ve visited the library a lot more since they started last year.

Yesterday’s post mentioned National Library Week (April 11-17) and featured The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett which highlights the use of the library and specifically bookmobile use. You can read my thoughts on it here.

I didn’t know it was National Library Week (or that this celebration existed). Neil Gaiman serves as the honorary chair this year. My first thought was lovely library and reading inspired events but it seems they are highlighting online resources, so no festivals and such. Oh well. Maybe I’ll checkout/download an audio book.

Today The American Library Association (ALA) will release the “Top 10 Most Challenged Books of 2009” list. Yay for banned books!

One response to “National Library Week

Leave a Reply

