Festivities

Two weeks away from work couldn’t have been spent better. I spent the first week celebrating my birthday. I made an almond cake (a Nigella Lawson recipe) opened birthday gifts and took off to the mountains to visit historic Biltmore House and traipse through a lovely artsy town.


The house and grounds at Biltmore are astonishing. We spent an entire day wandering through the gardens and conservatory, sampling wines, browsing through the gift shops, and of course taking in the mountain scenery.

Of course I visited as many bookstores as I could find. And I lucked out. I figured a list would be dull so I give you the haul in table format…pretty spiffy.

Title Author A Cover
The Happy Foreigner Enid Bagnold The Land of Spices (Virago Modern Classics)
The Adventures of Elizabeth in Rugen Elizabeth von Arnim The Adventures of Elizabeth in Rugen (Virago Modern Classics)l
The Land of Spices Kate O’Brien The Land of Spices (Virago Modern Classics)
Maurice Guest Henry Handel Richardson Maurice Guest (Capuchin Classics)
A Little Love, A Little Learning Nina Bawden A Little Love, a Little Learning
The Caravaners Elizabeth Von Arnim The Caravaners
The Lying Days Nadine Gordimer The Lying Days
Told by an Idiot Rose Macaulay Told by an Idiot
The Solitary Summer Elizabeth von Arnim The Solitary Summer
Beyond The Glass Antonia White Beyond the Glass (Virago Modern Classics)
Armour Wherein He Trusted Mary Webb .
The Three Sisters May Sinclair .
Mary O’Grady Mary Lavin .
The Getting of Wisdom Henry Handel Richardson The getting of wisdom (A Virago modern classic)
The Golden Arrow Mary Gladys Meredith Webb .
Seven for a Secret Mary Gladys Meredith Webb .
The Misses Mallet: The Bridge Dividing E. H. Young .
Lucy Gayheart Willa Cather Lucy Gayheart (Virago Modern Classics)

HTML Tables

And 3 that were not VMCs
Death in the Stocks
Georgette Heyer
Death in the Stocks

Undersong: Chosen Poems Old and New
Audre Lorde
Undersong: Chosen Poems Old and New

Guests in the Body
Michelene Wandor

6 responses to “Festivities

  • Aarti

    I’ve wanted to visit Biltmore for a while! I didn’t know there was wine there.

    Also, yay for a Heyer purchase 🙂

    • LeaningSun

      Oh yes! A whole winery with lots of free samples. I just finished my first Heyer last night (A Blunt Instrument). And I have you to thank for peaking my interest!

  • Verity

    Belatedly happy birthday – looks like a great break! Hugely envious of that lovely green copy of The getting of wisdom – I have it in black, dial press which just isn;’t the same – it’s a fantastic read. I highly recommend the Elizabeth von Arnim too. The only one I haven’t come across is Seven for a secret…

  • Brigindo

    What a beautiful looking cake. Can’t wait to see you.

  • BuriedInPrint

    Sounds like a wonder+ful week indeed. And what a terrific haul of books. I was just petting my copy of Audre Lorde’s Sister Outsider a couple of days ago. And I envy your having found My Three Sisters for which I’ve been hunting for ages.

Leave a Reply

